Open Educational Resources

Open educational resources are course materials that anyone can freely retain, revise, remix, reuse and redistribute.

The following lists include examples of OERs for subjects taught at the University. They are by no means comprehensive.

You can also search the suggested platforms listed throughout this guide or contact the Library's Learning Support team for help.

Textbooks

Climate smart agriculture: building resilience to climate change
Book draws on theory and concepts from agricultural development, institutional and resource economics to explain and expand on the concept of climate-smart agriculture. Includes country level case studies. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
The economics of food and agriculture markets, 2nd edition
Textbook showcasing the power of economic principles to explain and predict issues and current events in the food, agricultural, agribusiness, international trade, labor markets, and natural resource sectors. Includes real-world examples and applications of the economic concepts under discussion. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.
An interactive text for food and agriculture marketing
Textbook for foundational agribusiness course designed to give students a broad understanding of the economics of food and agriculture markets. Includes interactive demonstrations and problem sets. Assumes understanding of algebra and microeconomics principles. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribuion-ShareAlike) license.
Socioeconomics of agriculture
Book applies the emerging concepts of socioeconomics to the agriculture economic sector. It presents and compares different agricultural systems and structures in issues in regard to hierarchy, markets and cooperation. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

The Conversation: food security
Collection of easily readable articles about food security written by academics around the world. CC BY-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives) license.
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
Australian government department website which includes information and publications on farming, food, water, and trade and market access. Unless otherwise indicated content is CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) licensed.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Agency leading international efforts to defeat hunger, and improve nutrition and food security. Site includes a variety of resources including news, publications, interactive stories and data. Terms of use allow reuse for non-commercial teaching purposes. Individual resources may have separate license.
Just Food Educarional Resource
Project from the University of British Columbia focused on placing equity at the center of food justice pedagogy. Includes facilitator guide and modules co-developed by students covering topics such as migrant labour, local food movement, governance, and food security. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.
Open Case Studies
Collection of interdisciplinary case studies from the University of British Columbia. There is a focus on sustainability but a large number of topics are covered including conservation, education, forestry, land & food systems, and soil science. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Agricultural business
Online course modules from the California Department of Education Career and College Transition Division. Covers fundamental agricultural economic priniciples, credit, accounting principles and procedures, risk management, marketing systems, and sales. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
Land, water, food, and climate
Course from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology which examines land, water, food, and climate in a changing world, with an emphasis on key scientific questions about the connections between natural resources and food production. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.