Open Educational Resources

This book introduces the study of meaning in human language covering lexical semantics, compositional semantics, and pragmatics. Includes exercises which can be used for class discussion and/or homework assignments. Part of the Language Science Press textbook series. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

This book attempts to frame corpus linguistics systematically as a variant of the observational method. It includes case studies from the main areas of corpus linguistics - lexical associations, morphology, grammar, text and metaphor. Part of the Language Science Press textbook series. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

This introductory textbook, published by eCampusOntario, covers the core areas of theoretical linguistics (phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics), supplemented with discussion of psycholinguistic and neurolinguistic findings. Includes multimedia and interactive content. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

This book introduces formal grammar theories that play a role in current linguistic theorising. Part of the Language Science Press textbook series. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook exploring the nature of language and linguists' agreed-upon ways of talking about the object of their inquiry. Focuses on modes of thinking rather than content knowledge. Includes activities, lecture slides and a companion workbook. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

This textbook, published bu University of Missouri, examines the fundamental properties and intertwining nature of language and culture. It covers linguistic relativity, lexical differences among languages and intercultural communication, including high and low contexts. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

This book, published by Language Science Press, is a practical guide for linguists, and programmers, who work with data in multilingual computational environments. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Resources to help students learn the sounds of the phonetic alphabet, includes clickable IPA chart with video demonstrations and transcription test generator. Created by Dr Gareth Walker from the University of Sheffield. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Website designed for exploring the diversity in phonetics across language families from around the world. Covers hundreds of regional languages, dialects and accents. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Website containing audio recordings illustrating phonetic structures from over 200 languages with phonetic transcriptions, plus scans of original field notes where relevant. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Videos from the School of Linguistics and English Language at the University of Edinburgh. Three series are available: The Origins of the Scots Language; Generative Syntax; and Pullum on Passives. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Videos of "Micro-Lectures" used in the Virtual Linguistics Campus courses hosted at the Marburg University in Germany. Videos can be used as stand-alone instructional videos. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials by a team of 55 authors. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Courses in linguistics as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Free course from the Open University that looks at how language is understood by taking an interdisciplinary approach. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.