Open Educational Resources

Book explores how feelings about gender have changed over three interrelated generations of women and men of different social classes during the twentieth century. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook that covers the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action at the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995. Each chapter covers an issue and includes stories about women who are changing their societies for the better. Public domain.

OpenStax textbook designed to meet the requirements of an introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. Includes instructor and student resources. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks. It emphasises feminist sociological approaches to analysing structures of power, drawing heavily on empirical feminist research. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook that emphasises the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers. Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students as consumers of popular and public information, as citizens, and as current and future employees. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Textbook that takes a realistic but motivating look at the many issues facing society today. Includes examples of how social problems have been improved and of strategies that hold potential for solving them today and in the future. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Reliable source for the history of sex and gender equality in the United States with articles written by a feminist professor, artist, or activist and peer reviewed by its own Collective of feminist specialist. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Podcast series from the University of Oxford Centre for Socio-Legal Studies. Only episodes with a (CC) symbol next to their title are available under a CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Project from Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota that hosts in-house articles, blogs, and podcasts along with community pages. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Collection of videos related to society delivered by a diverse range of speakers aimed to spread ideas. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license applies to TED Talks. All other content, including TED Ed videos are all rights reserved.

Wikibook that covers the foundations of sociology with an introduction to the discipline, relevant study methodologies, and dominant theoretical perspectives, and includes chapters on different areas of study in sociology. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Courseware for introduction to sociology course. Topics covered include, sociological research, culture, global inequity, media & technology, health & environment, and deviance, crime & social control. Various licenses.

Courses in women's and gender studies as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions, student project examples etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Courses related to sociology and criminology ranging from introductory to advanced level from the Open University. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Online self-directed course that introduces sociology as the discipline that examines human interactions, cultural phenomena, and covers topics such as inequality, urbanization, and their effects on groups and individuals . Asides from final exams content created by Saylor Academy is CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) licensed. Various licenses for third party material.