Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Guidance on using EndNote software at the University of Adelaide

Bibliographic records from most journal databases are easily imported into your EndNote library. You can search and select references to be transferred into your EndNote library.

Each database is different, but the basic principles are the same:

  1. Enter the database by the usual method for your organization and conduct a search.
  2. Select or Mark relevant items, and if necessary add to a marked list or folder.
  3. Select the output option to Export to EndNote and then click Save or Export. You might also have the option to select fields to export or output format. Always go for the full record option.
  4. Your references should go straight into your currently open library without any further prompting.  This can vary according to browser and Mac/PC. You might need to click on Open to continue, or if it asks you to select which software you wish to use to open it, navigate to the EndNote program to Open with (and check the box to do this automatically…). If prompted to Select a Library, look in the folder or drive that contains your EndNote library. NB If your library is already open and it is asking this, it might be because you have an unsaved reference still open in your library. Go back to your library and click out of or close a reference, then try again.
  5. The newly imported references will appear in the Imported References group. Click All References to return all references to view.

Most databases have a direct export function to EndNote or you may have to use a filter to import a text file.

This will depend on the database you are using, the database provider e.g. EBSCO, and the browser you are using e.g. Internet Explorer, Firefox or Chrome (Safari is NOT recommended for use with EndNote). The starting point is always in the native databases, which can be accessed from the Library Home Page.

Step by step Instructions for many (though not all) of the library's databases are provided in the document links below: